Overwatch Anniversary 2018 screenshot of Sombra, Moira and Doomfist dancing

Overwatch's recent Anniversary 2018 update brought with it an absolute ton of cosmetics to collect. Not only are there new legendary and epic skins to pick up, each of which cost quite a few in-game credits, but all of the previous event cosmetics, emotes and voice lines have made a return as well!

Given the sheer amount of items currently on offer, I'm sure you'll be glad to hear that Overwatch will be holding a double XP event this weekend for both PC and consoles. It will begin at 11am PDT on Friday, June 8th (6pm UTC on June 9th) and last until 11:59pm PDT on Monday, June 11th (6:59am UTC on June 12th). If you're wondering how exactly this translates into your local time, Blizzard has provided a rather handy infographic showing just that. Have a look:

Overwatch 2018 screenshot of starting times for the double experience weekend

The double XP weekend, as you can probably guess from the name alone, will give you twice as much experience from all sources. So whether you prefer Quick Play, Competitive or even the Arcade, you will still be able to reap the full benefits of this event.

That said, if you want to maximize your gains I would highly recommend teaming up with a friend and playing the various Deathmatch Arcade game modes. Not only will this give you considerable amounts of experience just for playing the game, but due to the short match lengths you will constantly be getting bonus experience for victories and for not cancelling the queue between games. You will also be able to easily secure your three weekly loot boxes by just playing the Arcade, so it's definitely worth it if you simply want to farm as many boxes as possible.

Have fun, and good luck with the legendaries!

Please Log In to post a comment